Proem

The "Golden" Journey of the Journal of Engineering Geology

The Golden Jubilee of the Journal of Engineering Geology of the Indian Society of Engineering Geology comes on the heels of the Golden Jubilee of the Society celebrated in October 2015. Fondly referred to as the JoEG, the Journal, first published in the year 1966, has remained the flagship publication of the Society through its journey of over fifty years. Conceived and executed as a quarterly periodical, over the years, the Journal has been brought out as an annual publication. With the release of the Golden Jubilee issue of the Journal on the occasion of the EGCON 2017 – the event celebrating the Golden Jubilee of the Journal at New Delhi on 07-08 October 2017 – the Society has brought out fifty seven issues of the Journal.

The JoEG has catered to the disciplines of Engineering Geology, Geotechnical Engineering and allied earth sciences. It has brought out thought provoking articles and, in particular, serves as a vast storehouse of engineering geological and geotechnical information on major river valley and other infrastructure projects in India. The complete categorized list of the papers published in the Journals till 2010 can be found in a handbook of the Society released in 2011. The papers have been categorized in themes like tunnels, powerhouses, water resources, drilling, geophysics, seismicity, mapping/logging, landslides, etc. The updated list of the papers in the second edition of the handbook is on the anvil.

Starting with Shri V.S. Krishnaswamy, formerly Director General of the Geological Survey of India, who has the distinction of being the first Editor of the Society and man behind the inaugural issue of the Journal in 1966, the editing of the Journal for over four decades, remained in the hands of the officers of the Geological Survey of India. It is since the year 2008 that the responsibility of editing is changing hands between the officers of the Geological Survey of India and the NHPC Lt. and, since the year 2013, the editing of the Journal has been with NHPC Ltd.

For three decades, the JoEG was printed using the then popular letter press technology and followed the inaugural design of a plain white cover with a coloured strip on the binding side. Strips of different colours were used for differentiating quarterly issues. It was during the term 1994-1996 that the Society shifted to the modern offset printing technology for the publication of the Journal. The shift in printing technology also brought a sea change in the design of the Journal's cover that did away with the coloured strip and instead adopted a vignette design with a single colour shading off gradually from top to down of the cover page. The new design allowed possibilities of endless unique but simple cover pages that in turn helped distinguish the Journal issues for different years with immense ease. The vignette design continued for about two decades before giving way to a new design in the year 2013.

While the Journal of Engineering Geology kept pace with the developments in the field of Engineering Geology and Geotechnical Engineering, the Society kept publishing other

landmark publications marking important events. A few of such publications include the "Auden Volume" (1972), "Powerhouses" (1973), Landslides (1975), "Tunnels", "Geotechnical Features of Major Dams in India" (1982), "Indian Monuments Through The Ages" ()1992, and the "Golden Jubilee Publication" at the Golden Jubilee celebration conference "EGNM 2015" of the Society at New Delhi in 2015.

The journey of the Journal of Engineering Geology continues unabated and the Society, keeping pace with the infrastructure development, promises to keep the engineering geological and geotechnical engineering fraternity abreast with the latest in these fields.

Yogendra Deva Vice President, Asia IAEG

Fifty years of Journal of Engineering Geology (1966 to 2016)

Past Editors of Journal of Engineering Geology

S No	Editor	From	to
1.	Shri V.S. Krishnaswamy	1965	1967
2.	Shri R.K. Sundaram	1967	1973
3.	Shri B.N. Niyogi	1973	1975
4.	Shri S.N. Chaturvedi	1975	1976
5.	Dr. S. Gangopadhaya	1976	1979
6.	Shri D. N. Sesha Giri	1979	1980
7.	Shri S.K. Shome	1980	1984
8.	Shri Z. Ashraf	1984	1985
9.	Shri N. K. Mandwal	1988	1990
10.	Shri G. Pant	1990	1992
11.	Shri P.L. Narula	1992	1994
12.	Shri D.K. Ghosh	1994	1996
13.	Dr. Prabhas Pande	1996	1998
14.	Shri Y.P. Sharda	1998	2000
15.	Shri S.K. Gupta	2000	2002
16.	Shri Yogendra Deva	2003	2004
17.	Dr. R.K. Avasthy	2005	2006
18.	Shri U.V. Hegde	2007	2008
19.	Dr. V.K. Sharma	2009	2010
20.	Shri Ashok Kumar	2011	2012
21.	Shri Imran Sayeed	2013	2015
22.	Shri Rahul Khanna	2016	Present