## **Editorial Board**

Dr. Gopal Dhawan, CMD-MECL, Nagpur Dr. V. M. Sharma, AIMIL, New Delhi Shri P.L. Narula, GSI (Retd.), New Delhi Dr. P.C. Nawani, Jindal Power, Gurgaon Dr. Prabhas Pandey, GSI(Retd.), New Delhi Shri A.S. Walvekar, NHPC, Faridabad Dr. Y.P. Sharda, SNC Lavlin, New Delhi Shri Y. Deva, ICCS Ltd, Noida Shri M. Raju, GSI, Kolkata Shri U.V. Hegde, GMR, New Delhi Dr. V.K. Sharma, GSI, Dehradun Dr. Rajbal Singh, CSMRS, New Delhi Dr. Manoj Verman, Consultant, New Delhi Shri M.J. Ahmed, ACES, Dubai Dr. R. Anbalagan, IIT, Roorkee Shri Balraj Joshi, NHPC, Faridabad Shri Ashok Kumar, GSI, Lucknow Shri N.K. Mathur, NHPC, Faridabad Shri P. K. Gupta, NHPC, Faridabad Shri Imran Sayeed, NHPC, Faridabad (Editor/Convener)

## Address for Correspondence:

#### Imran Sayeed Editor, ISEG

C/o Project Investigation Division NHPC Office Complex, Sector-33, Faridabad, Haryana-121003 E-mail:iseg2015@gmail.com; editor@ioegindia.com;

Rahul Khanna Joint Editor

Part of the journal is available in electronic form at website: *www.joegindia.com* 

Copies of journal can be obtained by book post. An amount of Rs 350/- has to be deposited through on line bank transfer. Bank details are given below: Name: UCO Bank; Branch: GSI Branch,

Aliganj, Lucknow; Name of account: "INDIAN.SOC.OF.ENG"; Account No.:90330200000045; IFSC Code : UCBA0002024

In case it is required by speed post please add Rs 90/-. International orders will cost \$150 per copy including postage.

Vol. XXXIX, No 1 for June 2014 of the Journal contains accepted full papers presented at the "*National Seminar on Engineering Geology, Geotechniques and Geohazards – A Quest for Excellence*" held during July 2014 at Kolkata.

(C) Indian Society of Engineering Geology

## **Indian Society of Engineering Geology**

(IAEG India National Group) (Established 1965)

Secretary, Indian Society of Engineering Geology C/o Dy. Director General, Mission– IV, Geological Survey of India, CHQ, 15 A&B, Kyd Street, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Kolkata, West Bengal-700 016, India. Email: india.seg@gmail.com; geolraju@gmail.com Mobile: +91-9432672087

### **ISEG Council**

The Indian Society of Engineering Geology (ISEG) also the Indian National Group of International Association of Engineering Geology and Environment (IAEG) is managed by an elected Governing Council. ISEG Council for the session 2013-14 is given below:

## President

Dr. Gopal Dhawan

#### Vice-President Dr. Prabhas Pande

V.K. Gupta Dr. Manoj Verman

Secretary M. Raju

**Joint Secretary** Prasanta Mishra Dr. Saibal Ghosh

**Treasurer** Ashok Kumar

Editor Imran Sayeed

**Joint Editor** Rahul Khanna

Past President Dr. V.M. Sharma

Past Secretary Yogendra Deva

# **Council Members**

Dr. Y.P. Sharda U.V. Hegde N.K. Mathur Akhouri Bishwapriya S.K. Kar Jaydip Mukherjee S. Kannan Arindom Chakraborty Bhuvanesh Kumar Dr. K.R.K. Prasad

### CMD, MECL, Nagpur

Addl. D.G (Retd), GSI NTPC Ltd., New Delhi Consultant, New Delhi

GSI, Kolkata

GSI, Kolkata GSI, Kolkata

GSI, Lucknow

NHPC, Faridabad

NHPC, Faridabad

AIMIL, New Delhi

ICCS Ltd, Noida

SNC Lavlin, New Delhi GMR, New Delhi NHPC, Faridabad GSI, Patna GSI (Retd.), Kolkata GSI, Kolkata GMR (Retd.), Bengaluru NHPC, Faridabad NTPC Ltd, New Delhi GSI (Retd.), Hyderabad

**Front Cover Photograph:** View of the ground subsidence occurring tunnel at Tata Tea Estate along head race alignment from the paper **"Geotechnical Problem Encountered in HRT of Pallivasal Extension Scheme, Idukki District, Kerala"** authored by Aravind K. et al published at page pp-74-83 in this issue of the journal.